Getting meta all the time …


Ok, ok, I’m sorry, that’s a lame title. But I’m here today using social media to tell you that I was at a discussion about use of social media, and will be thinking about ways of increasing/improving how we do this. And I’ll be using social media even more to gather the sort of information I’ll need to do a good job. You see? It’s a bit, er, circular.

Or actually, is it? If social media is just another information tool, what’s complex about using it as one? We’re all very self-conscious about getting on Twitter or writing a blog, and quite apprehensive about how we make use of these arcane new technologies, but you know what? It’s just like using a newspaper column to review a book, or a song to describe a relationship. It’s another way of sharing information. That’s all.

So while my colleague is thinking about the positive side of this … i.e. what would it look like if we were already doing it … I’ll do the other thing. You know, asking the awkward questions.

  • What could go wrong?
  • What scares us about this?
  • Why are we afraid?

I could sit here and describe all the reasons I can think of, but just for a change I don’t think I have the answers. I’m very comfortable with using these channels, so this is one occasion when I may have to shut up and listen to the concerns of others. I expect (and hope) to be challenged and educated by what I hear. ┬áIt’ll be good for me.

About Lucy Knight

Unashamed geek lost in policy land. Frequently required to believe three impossible things before breakfast, and implement them by tea time.
This entry was posted in Engagement, Organisational Development, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

