Reveille


I just did an interesting thing. I was reading this document, which is excellent; and as I was saving it to my PDF reader for later I labelled it ‘Call to action’. A minute or two later I was conscious of a nagging feeling – I realised I had it wrong, and it’s actually called ‘Call for action’. Now I must say first it’s an excellent bit of writing, full of good ideas, and something I will be following up later and trying to adopt some of the things. 

But here it is: my brain says call to action. That means get up, stand up, let’s go! It’s someone running though the campsite ripping out tent pegs, playing the reveille on a bugle. It’s tipping people out of their wing chairs, it’s pulling off the duvet and throwing it on the floor at the other side of the room.

A call for action is something different. That says to me, somebody should do something, something should be done, why isn’t anybody doing anything? It’s a stern letter to the editor. Possibly in green ink. It’s a passive-aggressive Facebook status update. It’s a pointed note on the fridge door about the state of the sink.

Now, I’m not a great fan of doing other people’s washing up.* but if something’s important enough to talk about, it’s probably important enough to do something about too. So I think that document should have been called Call To Action. That’s what I think. #justsayin’

* I’m not a huge fan of doing my own washing up, if it comes to it. Luckily I’m well supported in that area by a team of domestic gods.

About jargonaut

Unashamed geek lost in policy land. Frequently required to believe three impossible things before breakfast, and implement them by tea time.
This entry was posted in Engagement, Future Landscape, The Geek Wonk Interface and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

