No resolutions


I don’t do New Years resolutions, mainly because if something matters that much I’d decide to do it on any day of the year rather than saving it up for January 1st. For instance, I know damn well I should give up smoking, join a gym, read more intelligent books and clean out my utility room shelves. But I really don’t believe in artificially piling more guilt on myself by failing to get these done within a certain timeframe. They’ll happen when I’m ready for them to happen.

On the other hand, here’s a resolution that’s happening at exactly the right time and just coincidentally happens to be at the beginning of a new year. I resolve to clear out my folder of interesting articles and links and delete most of them.

Why now? Because I started trying to write some ideas for blog articles, which is a weekly set task for me, and I went to look at the folder where I keep the items that inspired me to write or rant. I realised that there are dozens of things in there that are badly out of date now. Whatever I was thinking when I clipped them is now gone and past, whatever I was hoping to do with them is now irrelevant, and whatever I wanted to say about them isn’t helpful. So into the trash they go.

It hurts a bit, I’ll be honest – they’re all excellent and informative bits of writing that have important messages. But I missed the opportunity to use them and build on them because I thought I could just put them in an ideas bucket and come back to them later. Sometimes this works for me. For these particular items it hasn’t. So in future I resolve to write a draft as soon as I get the idea, to clip the article straight into the draft, and to keep the ‘Later’ bucket more or less empty.

And then, maybe, I’ll have enough empty bucket space to start having ideas of my own.

20140102-125755.jpg

About jargonaut

Unashamed geek lost in policy land. Frequently required to believe three impossible things before breakfast, and implement them by tea time.
This entry was posted in Just me, The Geek Wonk Interface and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

