Open data


20140718-222427-80667561.jpg

Last week I had the opportunity to meet the gods of local government open data.* It was totally worth the 4 hour schlep up to London, and I don’t think I was the most distant attendee either so I’m obviously not the only one who felt that way.

And how do we behave when we meet our idols? That’s right kids, we babble. And maybe we say glib phrases that when we have them read back to us don’t convey what we meant at all. And by we, I mean I. I babbled. And I said “I’m the open data lead because no one else wanted it.”

Right, ok, that’s not really correct. I actually don’t know if anyone else wanted it. I may have forgotten to ask because, you see, I did want it. And still do. And in my babbling I might have made it sound like it’s just me, caring, doing all the work, when that’s not right at all.

So … apologies and credits to my colleagues Kevin Gillick, Mark Painter and Martin Howitt who are the other three corners of the Devon open data rhombus. **. Between us we are working on different angles of the project, with them supplying most of the technical expertise and project management, and me bringing the ability to get to meetings and make sure we keep in touch with everything else that’s going on around the country. I feel I’ve got the better end of the deal here. So if you catch me pretending I’m not having fun with open data, whatever the frustrations, feel free to point that out.

* for a full report, check out Jamie Whyte’s blog post here.
** I was going to say square, but that sounds boring.

About jargonaut

Unashamed geek lost in policy land. Frequently required to believe three impossible things before breakfast, and implement them by tea time.
This entry was posted in Open data, The Geek Wonk Interface and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

