News from Local Gov Digital


There’s been so much exciting news lately that I barely know what to lead with. But here’s a great start; last week I was invited to join the Local Gov Digital steering group and lead on open data jointly with Jamie Whyte of Trafford. Obviously it goes without saying that I’m honoured to have been asked … and even more so to have been ranked alongside Jamie, who is driving some fantastic projects right now.

But what does this mean? Ok, two things. One – I’m the visible face of open data for my organisation, although as I discovered today I’m not as visible as all that because a colleague has been working parallel to me for several weeks without either of us realising. So the rhombus I mentioned in my last post is now a pentagon. Kind of. Step up Steve Howkins from the Information Governance team here at Devon County Council, who will be supporting colleagues to make sure we meet our requirements under the new Transparency Code.

Two – I’ve been invited because, and I quote, I “clearly demonstrate the new principles and model” of the steering group – these principles being, collaborating and sharing across organisations and boundaries. As we know, this is basic jargonautry. I am not and could never claim to be the expert in open data, nor am I the only person doing the work, and I’m not even close to being at the top of the decision making tree. I’m just doing what I do best, talking to amazing people about their work and spreading the word wherever I think it might be useful. 

I’m very much looking forward to working alongside Jamie and with the wider steering group, and of course with my whole network of inspiring, sharing individuals. Watch this space for future posts on what we plan to do with all this new knowledge, and some other developments we’ll be able to announce soon.

About jargonaut

Unashamed geek lost in policy land. Frequently required to believe three impossible things before breakfast, and implement them by tea time.
This entry was posted in The Geek Wonk Interface and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

